PeerGalaxy Calendar

Welcome to PeerGalaxy Calendar featuring offerings of telephone + online peer support + wellness activities! 

WE ARE PEER FOR YOU!

Click the Accessibility Button on the right side, halfway down in the middle, for enhanced viewing and/or access options!  Click the Translate Button in the lower left corner for language options. 

Your use of this site is subject to the Privacy Policy, Terms and Conditions of Use.  Reminder: Fees or charges may be charged by your carrier for sending or receiving SMS text messaging, phone, or data.

If you have an event to add, email us: webmail@peergalaxy.com

Training Opportunities in July 2020
List Provided Courtesy of State of Oregon, Oregon Health Authority
Click here to download PDF Format, 16 pages

How Events are Sorted:

First, at the top of the list: Disaster Hotline & Oregon Safe + Strong Helpline.

Next in the list: Bundled “All Day” Events for organizations with events happening at multiple times throughout the day and/or in many formats or locations; these are bundled into a single listing to prevent endless scrolling.  Usually these offer a lookup by zip code or other criteria. 

Lastly, Time-Specific Events listed by start time from 12:01am early morning to 11:59pm late night.  Warmlines and places east of Oregon’s time zone tend to start earlier (e.g. 4am in Oregon is 7am in New York).

Jan
23
Sun
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 23 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 23 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
24
Mon
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 24 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 24 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
25
Tue
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 25 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 25 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
26
Wed
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 26 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 26 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
27
Thu
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 27 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 27 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
28
Fri
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 28 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 28 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
29
Sat
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 29 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 29 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
30
Sun
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 30 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the premises with a 24-hour notice. The denial must be in writing and must be posted on the main entrance to the premises. A tenant cannot deny lawful access without risking the termination of the tenancy. So, any denial of entry for COVID-19 related reasons should state so in the written denial posted on the door.

A landlord who insists upon entry when a tenant has denied entry may be subject to civil penalties. In addition, failure to comply with the governor’s social distancing order is a Class C misdemeanor.

Where can a renter go for assistance if they receive an eviction notice?

If you are low-income, contact your local Legal Aid office. You can find your local office at https://oregonlawhelp.org/find-legal-help. If you do not qualify for legal aid services, contact the Oregon State Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 452-7636.

If you are a veteran, disabled, elderly or under a certain income level, additional services may be available in your area. If you need help connecting to services in your area, call 311.

If your landlord tries to forcibly remove you from your home, call your local law enforcement.

The COVID-19 situation is changing on a daily basis. These answers are our best interpretation of the state’s precautions as of Oct. 5, 2020. Please check these websites to monitor changes:

-Elliott Farren, Oregon Law Center, Eugene

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housing-assistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

OHCS Landlord Compensation Fund

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

The Oregon Legislature  enacted an eviction moratorium and  established the Landlord Compensation Fund (HB 4401). The Legislature allocated $200 million in rent assistance to support tenants and landlords, which includes $150 million for the Landlord Compensation Fund.
The Landlord Compensation Fund opened in February with a tremendous response through an online application portal to streamline the collection of landlord provided data on rent collections. The first round will fund up to $50 million in requests for unpaid rent. Participating landlords must accept 80 cents for every dollar of qualified rent-owed and this first funding round will include rent owed from April 2020 – February 2021. The program is not a “first come, first serve” basis, please see criteria below.
Please note:
FIRST ROUND DEADLINE: Friday, March 5 at 4:00pm.
If you are experiencing difficulties and have initiated an application and intend to submit it for the first-round funding – we are committed to working through these technical issues with you. If you are working on this application and need additional assistance with technical issues, you must complete the form at the following link by 4pm on Friday to secure your place in Round 1.
For those that would prefer to wait until the next round of funding, which will be open in April 2021, we will have funding to offer for carry-over and new applications submitted for the second round. As a reminder, the first round includes $50 million of the total $150 million in program funds.

As a reminder to all applicants, the deadline for first application round of the Landlord Compensation Fund program is4pm on Friday March 5, 2021.

The next application round will be opening in late March 2021 and will include another $50 million in assistance.

 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/phb/72622

Oregon Eviction Moratorium FAQ For Landlords

Moratorium on residential evictions in Oregon on the basis of nonpayment of rent or terminations without tenant cause. The following information is applicable statewide. View Frequently Asked Questions on this page.

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid Services in Oregon
Oregon State Bar, Landlord Tenant Law
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing of Oregon
Hotline: 1-800-424-3247 (for housing discrimination only)
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
503-213-1281
Manufactured Housing/Oregon State Tenants Association
(Information for mobile park tenants)
DISCLAIMER: Information is provided solely as a courtesy without guarantees or warranties of any kind whatsoever.  Use at your own risk and expense.
AM – All Month – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Renters and Landlords during COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 30 all-day

 

Support, Resources, Assistance & Info for Tenants and Landlords During COVID-19

Apoyo, recursos, asistencia e información para inquilinos y propietarios durante COVID-19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

(OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on the link below to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS LINK

Important Update:

Safe Harbor Eviction Protection Period Extended

  • Oregon Legislators recently held a special session to extend eviction protections known as “Safe Harbor” protections in Oregon (SB 278). As a result of recent legislation, tenants have protection from eviction upon showing their documentation of rental assistance application to their landlord. These protections replace the 60-day period (90 days in some jurisdictions) and now cover the entire time an application is being processed (up until September 30, 2022.)
  • In order to be protected, tenants must give proof of application to their landlord right away (by June 30, 2022 at the latest, or at or before any first court appearance, whichever is sooner.)
  • Anyone who has already applied for assistance and shown documentation of their application to their landlord at or before any first court appearance is now protected from nonpayment eviction until their application is processed.
  • Landlords are required to give 10 days of notice of termination of tenancy for nonpayment until September 30, 2022.
  • Landlords may begin eviction proceedings if you’ve missed rent and haven’t begun an application – apply to an open rental assistance program right away to access these protections!
  • If your application is closed or denied or paid in an amount that is less than is owed, your landlord can move forward with the eviction process for unpaid months.
  • If you have questions about eviction protections, please visit the Oregon Law Center’s website for updates at www.oregonlawhelp.org.

Eviction Defense Project

Is your landlord taking you to eviction court?

Get fast and free legal help from legal aid’s
new Eviction Defense Project

The Eviction Defense Project provides free legal assistance to low-income tenants facing eviction court cases. 

Contact us right away so we can review your case before it is too late.
Have your court case number and hearing date ready. 

Eviction court moves fast. Don’t wait.

Eviction Defense Project

¿Su arrendador lo ha llevado a la corte de desalojo?

Obtenga ayuda legal rápida y gratuita del nuevo Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos de los Servicios Legales.

El Proyecto de Defensa contra Desalojos brinda asistencia legal gratuita a inquilinos de bajos recursos que enfrentan casos de desalojo en la corte. 

Comuníquese con nosotros de inmediato para que podamos revisar su caso antes de que sea demasiado tarde.
Tenga a la mano el número de su caso y la fecha de la audiencia. 

La corte de desalojo se mueve rápido. No espere.

Important Information

for Oregon Renters and Landlords

There is no longer an eviction freeze in Oregon. Renters who are behind on rent or can’t pay future rent should apply for help.

Renters can apply to programs for help paying back and future rent and utilities through:

 

  • 211info.org or call 211 for information on local rent programs, or
  • oregonrentalassistance.org for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP)
    • NOTE: OERAP paused accepting applications on 12/1/21 for at least six weeks while waiting for new state money.

Payments go directly to landlords and utility companies.

Renters should show their landlords proof that they applied for rent help as soon as possible.

Renters are now protected from eviction until their application for rent help is processed if they show proof to their landlord.

 

  • If renters show their landlord proof that they applied for rent help before June 30, 2022, they cannot be evicted until
    • after the application is processed or
    • after September 30, 2022 – whichever is sooner.
  • Renters who already have a court case for unpaid rent should show proof that they applied for help to both their landlord and the judge to get extra time.
  • Until September 30, 2022, any notice to pay rent from a landlord must give 10 days to pay. Notices must also include special information about rent help programs and other protections.

 

Back Rent from April 2020 – June 2021: Time to Pay

The deadline to pay back rent owed for April 2020 – June 2021 is February 28, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for rent owed from this period until March 1, 2022.

 

  • Renters who owe rent from this time period should apply for rent help as soon as possible before March 1, 2022.

 

Landlord Guarantee Program:

Landlords who have delayed evictions for renters who applied for rent help may qualify for this program. More information is available here.

 

  • NOTE: The Landlord Guarantee Program has paused accepting applications while making changes to the program. To get an email when the application system opens up, please share your email address with LGP@homeforward.org.

 

Other Important Changes:

Landlords with renters that owe rent for the April 2020 – June 2021 period cannot:

 

  • evict renters for rent owed for this period (until March 1, 2022)
  • charge fees for unpaid rent for this period, and
  • report renters for past due rent to a consumer credit reporting agency.

Unpaid rent from April 2020 – March 2022 cannot count against renters in future rental applications. (Oregon law SB 282)

Guests – Renters may share housing until February 28, 2022, as long as they are not breaking any laws. This means that until that time, landlords cannot evict or fine renters for having more guests than the landlord’s guest policy allows.

Resources

 

  • Landlords and renters can find more details at the City of Portland’s website (statewide information is available).

 

Qué hay de nuevo:

Información importante para inquilinos y propietarios de Oregón

Ya no existe un congelamiento de desalojos en Oregón. Los inquilinos que están atrasados ​​en el alquiler o que no pueden pagar el alquiler futuro deben solicitar ayuda.

Los inquilinos pueden solicitar programas de ayuda para pagar el alquiler y los servicios públicos atrasados ​​y futuros a través de:

 

  • 211info.org o llame al 211 para obtener información sobre los programas locales de alquiler, o
  • oregonrentalassistance.org para el Programa de Asistencia de Alquiler de Emergencia de Oregón (OERAP)
    • NOTA: OERP detuvo la aceptación de solicitudes el 1/12/21 durante al menos seis semanas mientras esperaba nuevos fondos estatales.

Los pagos van directamente a los propietarios y las empresas de servicios públicos.

Los inquilinos deben mostrar a sus propietarios pruebas de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible.

Los inquilinos ahora están protegidos contra el desalojo hasta que se procese su solicitud de ayuda para el alquiler si muestran pruebas al propietario.

 

  • Si los inquilinos le muestran al propietario prueba de que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler antes del 30 de junio de 2022 , no pueden ser desalojados hasta que
    • después de que se procese la solicitud o
    • después del 30 de septiembre de 2022, lo que ocurra primero.
  • Los inquilinos que ya tienen un caso en la corte por alquiler impago deben mostrar prueba de que solicitaron ayuda tanto al propietario como al juez para obtener tiempo adicional.
  • Hasta el 30 de septiembre de 2022, cualquier aviso para pagar la renta de un arrendador debe dar 10 días para pagar. Los avisos también deben incluir información especial sobre los programas de ayuda para el alquiler y otras protecciones.

 

Alquiler atrasado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021: hora de pagar

La fecha límite para pagar el alquiler adeudado de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 es el 28 de febrero de 2022 . Los propietarios no pueden desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado desde este período hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

  • Los inquilinos que adeudan el alquiler de este período deben solicitar ayuda para el alquiler lo antes posible antes del 1 de marzo de 2022.

 

Programa de Garantía del Propietario:

Los propietarios que han retrasado los desalojos de los inquilinos que solicitaron ayuda para el alquiler pueden calificar para este programa. Más información está disponible aquí .

 

  • NOTA: El Programa de Garantía del Propietario ha dejado de aceptar solicitudes mientras realiza cambios en el programa. Para recibir un correo electrónico cuando se abra el sistema de solicitud, comparta su dirección de correo electrónico con LGP@homeforward.org .

 

Otros cambios importantes:

Los propietarios con inquilinos que adeudan alquiler para el período de abril de 2020 a junio de 2021 no pueden :

 

  • desalojar a los inquilinos por el alquiler adeudado durante este período (hasta el 1 de marzo de 2022)
  • cobrar cargos por el alquiler no pagado durante este período, y
  • informe a los inquilinos por alquileres atrasados ​​a una agencia de informes de crédito al consumidor.

El alquiler impago de abril de 2020 a marzo de 2022 no se puede descontar de los inquilinos en futuras solicitudes de alquiler. (Ley de Oregón SB 282)

Invitados : los inquilinos pueden compartir la vivienda hasta el 28 de febrero de 2022 , siempre que no infrinjan ninguna ley. Esto significa que hasta ese momento, los propietarios no pueden desalojar ni multar a los inquilinos por tener más invitados de los que permite la política de invitados del propietario.

Congelación de ejecuciones hipotecarias

El congelamiento de ejecuciones hipotecarias para propietarios de viviendas finaliza el 31 de diciembre de 2021 .

Obtenga más información en la División de Regulación Financiera de Oregón .

Recursos

 

    • Los inquilinos pueden comunicarse con Legal Aid Services of Oregon o Oregon Law Center para obtener más información sobre sus derechos y protecciones legales .
  • Los propietarios e inquilinos pueden encontrar más detalles en el sitio web de la ciudad de Portland (hay información disponible en todo el estado).

 

Need help paying your rent?
Need help getting into housing?
A Housing Counselor can provide guidance on various housing stability programs such as:
  • Emergency Rent Assistance
  • Energy Conservation programs
  • Renter support programs
  • Homeless Services
  • Family Shelters
  • Severe weather shelters
  • Rent Well Tenant Education Courses
  • Supportive Services for Veteran’s Families

Find a Housing Counselor

Showing 1 through 10 out of 43 items
Other Resources:
Legal Aid Services of Oregon
Oregon Housing and Community Services Department
Portland Housing Bureau – Rental Services Office
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Oregon
Community Alliance of Tenants (CAT)
503-288-0130
Multifamily NW
(503) 213-1281
Oregon State Tenants Association – Manufactured and Floating Home Communities

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS

Oregon Housing and Community Services has partnered with the Oregon State Bar to help landlords and tenants understand recent changes to Oregon laws. ​


Source: Oregon State Bar
Landlords materials are available below in the following languages:

Printed copies of these pamphlets can be ordered in quantities of 25 through the Oregon State Bar’s online catalog. There is no charge for the first order, up to 100 copies, of each language. If you need larger quantities, please contact the Oregon State Bar here.

Oregon LGP Program Details

Reimbursement for Eligible Costs

Did you wait through the “safe harbor?” Get paid.

Landlords, Apply to Forgive Tenant Debt

(503) 802-853

 

Program Guidelines and Information

If you would like some support understanding program eligibility and the application process, please view these training materials or call us today at (503) 802-8532.

Review the landlord training video below for additional information on the “safe harbor” law and a walk-through of the application portal steps.

To report suspected fraud, please email   LGP@homeforward.org.

 

 

 

Jan
31
Mon
AM – All Month – Renters, Tenants and Landlords – Support, Resources, Assistance & Info – During COVID-19 Pandemic
Jan 31 all-day

Oregon Covid-19 – Support For Tenants and Landlords

Resources & Assistance

 

ASSISTANCE AND RESOURCES FOR TENANTS:

Statewide Eviction Moratorium

There is a new statewide eviction moratorium (HB 4401) that will last until June 30, 2021. This means that, with limited exceptions, landlords cannot evict renters for nonpayment or without cause until July of 2021.​

Renters must sign and return a “tenants declaration” to their landlord if they can’t afford their rent.

http://www.livingcully.org/

Instructions and tenant declarations forms are available from Living Cully in English and Spanish.

English Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-English.pdf

Spanish Version:

Eviction-Moratorium-Flyer and Form-Spainish.pdf

This form is also available from the following agencies and links:

Oregon Judicial Branch – Oregon Judicial Branch.

Oregon Law CenterOregon Law Center

Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program

Information and Application For Tenants and Landlords

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is open as of May 19th. OHCS is working with local organizations to provide more than $200 million in assistance to low-income Oregonians that have been financially impacted by COVID-19. OHCS created a partner toolkit to help communities promote this vital resource. This packet includes check lists for tenants and landlords, application information and documentation, frequently asked questions, and other helpful information related to the program.

Vista De Verificacion Del Inquilino 

Solicitud En Papel

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) helps eligible low-income households with their past due rent and utilities. This program uses funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program, which allocated a collective total of $280 million to Oregon, the City of Portland, and multiple counties in the state. In most cases, approved applications will result in payments made directly to landlords and utility providers.

Beginning May 19, 2021, qualified renters who have experienced financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, and are at risk of homelessness or housing instability, may apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP). This program is not a loan, which means those who receive assistance will not have to pay back funds so long as they are used as approved and not duplicating other assistance programs. Assistance is offered to all eligible renters regardless of their citizenship or immigration status, and it will not impact the recipient’s eligibility for other federally funded programs such as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, social security, WIC or public housing.

Renters who are eligible for the program may request rent and/or utility assistance dating back to March 13, 2020 (prior expenses are not eligible). OERAP will cover up to 12 months of past due rent and three months of forward rent, once all past due rent is paid. OERAP will also cover past due utility costs including electricity, gas, home energy services, water, sewer, trash removal, internet and bulk fuels. Costs that will NOT be covered include: homeowner costs, homeowner utilities, landlord-paid utilities, landlord-paid property taxes, property insurance, phone, and renter insurance.

If approved, in most cases, payments will be made directly to the landlord, property owner or utility company on the tenant’s behalf via direct deposit or check. OERAP funds are not first-come-first-serve. Funds will be distributed based on a formula that prioritizes applications based on need. Everyone who turns in a completed application will have their application reviewed.

Click on this link to apply for Emergency Rental Assistance

Apply for OERAP Now

To learn more about eligibility, applying and the program itself, scroll down or use the buttons below to jump to a section.

 

Landlord/Tenant Law FAQ

 

 

https://www.osbar.org/index.html#

Is there an eviction moratorium in place right now?

Yes. There are three eviction moratoriums that apply to Oregonians right now. The most important one is Executive Order 20-56 (EO 20-56). It states that landlords are mostly unable to end tenancies without tenant cause. Also, landlords are unable to end tenancies for nonpayment from Oct. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020.

The second moratorium is House Bill 4213 (HB 4213) from the Oregon Legislature. HB 4213 allows tenants until April 1, 2021, to pay back any rent or other moneys that were not paid between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. Landlords cannot serve a notice of termination or evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent that came due between April and September until after March 31, 2021.

The third moratorium on evictions is an order from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot terminate their tenancy except for cause until after Dec. 31, 2020.

In most cases, this is weaker than the protection provided by EO 20-56. This makes the executive order more relevant to Oregonians.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for nonpayment?

A landlord cannot serve a termination notice or file an eviction case for nonpayment until after Dec. 31, 2020. This includes nonpayment of rent, late fees or other payments associated with the tenancy incurred between April 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. Beginning Jan. 1, 2021, unless the law changes, landlords will be able to take action against tenants for missing payments that come due in 2021. This also applies to payments that came due between Oct. 1, 2020, and Dec. 31, 2020. There is a grace period through March 31, 2021, for payments incurred between April 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.

For example, if a tenant did not pay rent in May of 2020 or September of 2020, but paid rent every month after that, the landlord would not be able to take action on the unpaid rent from May and September until April 1, 2021. But, if a tenant kept up with their rent during the emergency period but missed rent in January, a landlord could evict that person in January.

Under the CDC eviction moratorium, which lasts through Dec. 31, 2020, if a tenant files a declaration saying:

  • They are unable to pay their rent;
  • They make less than $99,000 per year;
  • They are trying to pay as much as they can, and;
  • They are trying to obtain all available government assistance, then a landlord cannot evict the tenant for nonpayment through Dec. 31, 2020.

The legality of the CDC eviction moratorium order has been challenged, but it is currently good law.

What about other kinds of notices?

None of the above explanations cover terminations “for cause” where the cause is something other than nonpayment. Causes that violate a rental agreement may include:

  • Destroying property.
  • Smoking where not allowed.
  • Allowing other people to move in.

A landlord can give a termination notice and seek to evict the tenant if they fail to move out at the end of the termination notice.

But, termination notices for no cause are prohibited by the state moratorium during the emergency period. A no-cause notice may be for a landlord reason such as wanting to repair the dwelling or convert it to a nonresidential use. However, under EO 20-56, a landlord may give a termination notice asking that the tenants move out in 90 days if the landlord or an immediate family member of the landlord wants to move in. This also applies if the landlord has sold the premises to someone who plans to move in.

Can a landlord still give a 24-hour inspection notice or does that violate social distancing?

Governor Brown has ordered all businesses to maintain social distancing within the workplace. She has not specifically addressed this issue. Nevertheless, the order suggests that a landlord should not be entering a rented property unless absolutely necessary (like for emergency repairs of leaks, breaks, power outages, etc.). The landlord should only perform an inspection while maintaining a distance of six feet from any other person. The landlord also should not come into contact with the surfaces of the home. If this cannot be done, then the landlord should wait until the state of emergency ends to conduct inspections.

Additionally, ORS 90.322(1)(f) allows a tenant to deny consent to a landlord who wishes to enter the prem